I Really Don’t Like Doing This

22 06 2009

I had a funny conversation with our church family yesterday. You see, we have a big community event this weekend. We have an entry in our city’s parade, as well as a booth at the Independence Day festival (this is all this Saturday, June 27). And I really don’t like doing this kind of thing. I don’t like being in a parade. I don’t like planning for a parade. I don’t like spending hours standing beside a booth most people avoid (actually, if I keep making animal balloons the kids won’t avoid us…). I would much rather spend my Saturday evening at home, preparing to preach on Sunday.

So, I told our church family that. I told them that because I know many of them don’t want to be in the parade either. They don’t want to walk down the street with crowds of people staring at them. They don’t want to be at our booth. They don’t want to be out in the hot sun. So most of us are in the same boat.

Of course that’s not the end of the story. There are other motivations that drive us out of our comfort zone. The love of Christ compels us. He died for all, so that they who live might no longer live for themselves, but for Him who died and rose again on their behalf. We are ambassadors for the One we love, His ambassadors in this community. If this community is going to gather together, His ambassadors should be there. It’s part of the “Go” in the great commission.

I still don’t want to go. And I told them that. And then we preached some truth to ourselves.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

